The Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Campus Committee (EDICC) was established in 2016 and held it's inaugural meeting in November 2016. The EDICC sets the framework for equality in service provision and employment across the University through development of operational work programmes.

This committee is composed of representative members from across the University who are senior decision makers with responsibilities for major units, schools, colleges, and leadership, including involvement from the Students' Union and Staff Networks. The EDICC reports to both the University Management Team (UMT) and to Údarás na hOllscoile (Governing Authority), via a sub-committee of the Údarás, the Equality, Diversity, Inclusion and Human Resources Committee (EDIHRC). 

The Terms of Reference of the EDICC were initially approved on November 1st 2016 and are reviewed regularly. The Terms of Reference were updated in May 2021 and approved by Údarás na hOllscoile on June 24th 2021: EDICC Terms of Reference.  

‌The EDICC meets four times per academic year and working groups have been scoped to develop plans in relation to 5 strategic areas. University of Galway staff members can access the agenda and minutes of the EDICC on the OVPEDI SharePoint site for Shared Staff Documents.


EDICC - 5 subcommittees

Membership of the Equality, Diversity, & Inclusion Campus Committee (EDICC)

  Job Title/Representative Name
CHAIR Vice-President for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Dr Helen Maher
SECRETARY Office of the Vice-President for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Ms Niamh Gallagher
MEMBERS Deputy President and Registrar Prof Peter McHugh
  Dean of College Representation  TBC
  Dean of Graduate Studies Prof Dónal Leech
  Chief Operating Officer Mr John Gill
  Secretary for Governance and Academic Affairs Ms Caroline Loughnane
  VP-Welfare and Equality Officer, Students' Union    Izzy Tiernan
  Part-Time Officer, Students' Union Ms Vanessa Frimpong
  VPR and Research Representative Prof Saoirse Nic Gabhainn
  Vice-President - International Prof Becky Whay
  Dean of Students Prof Ciara Meehan
  Head of EDI Ms Aoife Cooke
  Head of Student Services Mr John Hannon
  Centre for Global Women's Studies   Dr Nata Duvvury
  University Librarian Ms Monica Crump
  Director of Human Resources Ms Josephine Hynes
  Head of School Rep CSE Prof Michael Madden
  Head of School Rep CMNHS  
  Head of School Rep CBPPL Mr Adrian Sylver
  Head of School Rep CASSCS Dr Marie Mahon
  Vice-Dean EDI CASSCS Dr Sarah-Anne Buckley
  Vice-Dean EDI CBPPL Dr Deirdre Curran
  Vice-Dean EDI CSE Ms Mary Dempsey
  Vice-Dean EDI CMNHS Dr Kasia Whysall
  University of Sanctuary Representative Ms Imelda Byrne
  Chair of University Women's Network Ms Anne Marie Stokes
  Chair of LGBT+ Staff Network Dr Ann-Marie Hanlon / Mr Aidan Harte
  Chair of International Staff Network Dr Tina-Karen Pusse  
  EDI Programme Manager for Gender Equality Dr Laura Loftus
  EDI Programme Manager for Race Equality Mr Owen Ward
  Research Working Group representative Dr Michael Creane
  Technical Staff Representative    Dr Peter Owens



Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Annual Report

The Public Sector Duty was introduced as part of the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission (IHREC) Act 2014. The University is required to produce an annual report that is accessible to the public which includes details of developments and initiatives in the line with the Public Sector Duty. Production of this annual report falls under the remit of the EDICC. Please find the current and past annual reports below.

University of Galway Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Annual Report 2022/23

NUI Galway Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Annual Report 2020/21

NUI Galway Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Annual Report 2019/20

NUI Galway Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Annual Report 2018/19

NUI Galway Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Annual Report 2017/18

NUI Galway Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Annual Report 2016/17