The Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee (EDIC) of Údarás na hOllscoile was established in May 2017 and held its inaugural meeting in June 2017.  The remit of the committee has now been expanded to include HR matters. Accordingly, the title of the committee is changed to EDIHRC and the membership of the group has changed to include the Director of HR.

The Terms of Reference of the EDIC were initally approved at the June 2017 meeting and are reviewed regularly. The Terms of Reference  of the reconfigured EDIHRC were updated in November 2022 and approved by Údarás na hOllscoile in December 2022: EDIHRC Terms of Reference.‌

The EDIHRC meet five times per year to review the work of the EDI Campus Committee and provide strategic planning and support for equality, diversity, and inclusion governance and initiatives at University of Galway. The committee reports directly to Údarás na hOllscoile.

Membership of the Equality, Diversity, Inclusion and Human Resources Committee

 Job Title/Representative  Name
CHAIR External member of Údarás Ms Eileen Mannion
SECRETARY Office of the Vice-President for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Ms Niamh Gallagher
MEMBERS VP Welfare & Equality Officer, Students' Union Ms Imogen O'Flaherty Falconer
  Vice-President for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Dr Helen Maher
  President, University of Galway Prof Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh (ex-officio)
  Internal member of Údarás Dr Rachel Hilliard
  Internal member of Údarás Dr Eric Mortimer
  Internal member of Údarás Ms Sinéad Beacom
  Internal member of Údarás Dr Raghav Srinivasan
  Internal member of Údarás                   Ms Josephine Hynes
  Internal member of Údarás Ms Yao Xie
  External member of Údarás Mr Mike Jennings
  External member of Údarás Ms Cathy Connolly