40 NUI Galway Recipients Receive National NUI Awards

Pictured are NUI Awards winners from NUI Galway.
Nov 23 2016 Posted: 09:56 GMT

Galway Twins among the winners of prestigious Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart Medical Scholarships

Graduates and students of NUI Galway featured prominently at the annual National University of Ireland (NUI) Awards ceremony which took place recently in the Royal Hospital Kilmainham taking home an impressive 40 awards. Included in this number is one recipient from St. Angela’s College in Sligo, which is a partner college of NUI Galway.

A total of 25 Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart Medical Scholarships and Prizes were awarded to NUI Galway’s College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences, including 12 first prizes. NUI Galway students and twins Rachel and Rebecca O’Malley from Loughrea, Co. Galway, were among the first prize winners receiving scholarships in Nursing and Speech and Language Therapy respectively.

Four Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart Literary scholarships and prizes were awarded to: Christopher Finn, French; Shannon Grimes, Gaeilge, Paula Maher Martin, Italian; and Caoimhe McHugh, Spanish.

Three NUI Travelling Studentships were awarded to NUI Galway students Andrew Hannon, Economics, Kiefer Ramberg, Chemistry, and Sarah Johnson, Biomedical Engineering.

Other scholarships and awards include the Pierce Malone Scholarship in Philosophy which was awarded to Ashling McEvaddy, and the Mansion House Fund Prize was awarded to Christopher Breslin. The French Government Medal and NUI Prizes were awarded to Mari McMahon for Distinction on Dual Degrees and Sorchs O’Boyle for Proficiency in French. Fulbright/NUI Visiting Researcher Awards were presented to Alena Yuryna Connolly, Rosa Shine and Rita Melia.

The Scoláireacht Chiste Theach an Ardmhéara/Mansion House Fund Scholarship went to Master of Arts (Nua-Ghaeilge) student Laoighseach Ní Choistealbha.

Three of this year’s four NUI Post-Doctoral Fellowships were awarded to recipients who will complete their fellowship at the Moore Institute, NUI Galway. They include Dr Niamh Wycherley and Dr Deirdre Ní Chonghaile, both Post-Doctoral Fellowships in Irish and Celtic Studies, and Dr Bronagh McShane, Post-Doctoral Fellowship in Humanities.

Speaking on the success of NUI Galway students and graduates, President Jim Browne, said: “This year has been an exceptionally successful one for our students and staff in terms of NUI Awards received. It clearly highlights the quality of research underway at NUI Galway as well as high calibre of students studying on NUI Galway programmes and follows previous successes in these annual awards. I congratulate the Awardees on their achievements and encourage them in the future endeavours. In commending the studentaward recipients, I’d also like to pay tribute to their teachers for their work in supporting these students and in helping them to achieve such high standards.”

This Year the NUI commissioned commemorative medals to mark the 1916 Easter Rising anniversary. At the awards ceremony each award recipient was presented with one of the commemorative medals by the Chancellor, Dr Maurice Manning.

Next year’s NUI Awards competition will open for applications in early 2017. More information on the awards can be found at www.nui.ie/awards.


Marketing and Communications Office


Featured Stories