NUI Galway students and graduates honoured at National University of Ireland Annual Awards ceremony

Front row: Wei Yang Lim, Sinéad McKenna, Caoileann McDhonncha, Brianna Reilly, and Rebekah Sartini Back row: Róisín Thornton, Dr. Rosemary Geoghegan, Director of the Undergraduate Medicine programme, Thomas Butler, Professor Lawrence Egan Head of the School of Medicine, and Dominic Butler. Credit – Aengus McMahon.
Jan 14 2022 Posted: 09:28 GMT

More than 40 students and academics at NUI Galway have been honoured at the annual National University of Ireland awards. 

NUI Galway awardees were commended for exceptional achievement in academic endeavour and span the wide range of learning at the University, from history, the Irish language and modern languages, to literature, medicine, education and engineering.

Among the awardees were 28 from NUI Galway’s College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences, including students honoured with the Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart Medical Scholarships, one among the oldest awards to be offered by the National University of Ireland.

President of NUI Galway Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh said: “This clearly highlights the high calibre of students studying at NUI Galway. We respect their academic excellence.

“I congratulate everyone on their achievements and I would also like to pay tribute to the teachers and educators and other support staff for their work with our students and in helping them to achieve such high standards.”

Dr Patrick O’Leary, former Head of Chemistry at NUI Galway and began his term as Registrar of NUI this month, said: “The NUI Awards reward exceptional achievement in academic endeavour but also seek to resource some of our brightest minds to continue their academic careers. Today we make awards in a wide variety of areas and the work spans studies of the early medieval era to the NUI Dr H H Stewart Medical Scholarships and Prizes, highlighting the importance of medicine and healthcare during Covid-19.  Congratulations to all the awardees.”

Full details on the NUI Galway students and academics honoured at a special awards ceremony hosted by the National University of Ireland are listed below: 

Among those awarded First Prize were:



Martin O’Donoghue

Publication Prize in Irish History, joint award

Monika Jurkiewicz

NUI Travelling Doctoral Studentship in Latin American Literature

Tammy Strickland

NUI Travelling Doctoral Studentship in Neuroscience

Ciara Shortiss

NUI Travelling Doctoral Studentship Prize in Spinal Cord Injury Regeneration

Jenny Dixon

NUI Scholarship and Prize in Education, joint award

Lauren McMahon

Pierce Malone Scholarship in Engineering

Colm Ó Flathúin

Scoláireacht Chiste Theach an Ardmhéara sa Ghaeilge

Adam Mac Donnacha

Duais Chiste Theach an Ardmhéara sa Ghaeilge

Keith Dowling

French Government Medal and NUI Prize for Proficiency in French


First prize awardees from the College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences, included: 

Dr Evan White


Rebekah Sartini

General Practice

Brianna Reilly

Medical Microbiology

Róisín Thornton

Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Dr Sinead McKenna


Rosie Waldron


Adithi Gowda


Thomas Butler


Ellen Casey

Public Health

Dr Emma Callaghan


Anu Mohandes Nair

General Nursing

Joseph Doherty

Podiatric Medicine

Elise Byrne

Speech and Language Therapy


The following were awarded Second Prize, Third Prize or Commendation: 

Professor Niall Ó Dochartaigh and Dr Eugene Costello both received Commendations in the Irish History category.

NUI Galway was also successful in a number of Dr H H Stewart Literary Scholarships including Chloe Bright in English and Bláithín Breathnach in French, with Bláithín also receiving a Commendation in Italian. Chloe Kennedy was awarded 2nd prize in Spanish, and Amy Kennedy 3rd prize in German.

In the Irish categories Muireann Ní Cheannabháin was presented with 2nd prize in the Duaiseanna an Dr T K Whitaker sa Ghaeilge, and Amy Cox was awarded 2nd prize in Scoláireacht Liteartha an Dr H H Stewart sa Ghaeilge

Awardees from NUI Galway’s College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences also included: 

Second prize: Shania Coutinho, Anatomy; Anmol Mahesh, Biochemistry, Dr Aoife Fitzpatrick, Clinical Radiology, Cian Buckley O’Sullivan, General Practice; Zachary Hanrasi, Pathology; Emily Grehan, Midwifery; and Heather Gallen, Podiatric Medicine.

Third Prize: Caoileann Nic Dhonncha, Anatomy; Dr Sarah Eustace, Clinical Radiology; Dr Rionagh Lynch, Medicine; Dominic Butler, Paediatrics; Wei Yang Lim, Pathology; Amy Marian Collins, General Nursing; and Muibat Cole, Children’s Nursing.

Commendation: Dr Rionagh Lynch, Surgery


Marketing and Communications Office


Featured Stories