NUI Galway Announce Alumni Chair Seán O'Rourke as Guest Speaker at the 2014 Gala Ball Hosted by Gráinne Seoige

Photo of NUI Galway Alumnus and RTÉ broadcaster Gráinne Seoige
Feb 11 2014 Posted: 16:04 GMT

Five alumni award winners will be honoured at a gala night of food, entertainment and dancing

NUI Galway has announced that RTÉ broadcaster Gráinne Seoige will host this year’s Gala Ball and that this year’s guest speaker will be fellow RTÉ broadcaster and Chair of the NUI Galway Alumni Board Seán O’Rourke.

Gráinne Seoige and Seán O’Rourke are two of the more than 80,000 graduates of NUI Galway worldwide. They are also among the 79 outstanding graduates such as President Michael D Higgins, Ciarán FitzGerald, Professor Frank Gannon and Dr Luke Clancy that have been honoured in this way.

The 2014 Alumni Award winners will be presented with their awards at the Gala Ball on Saturday, 1 March, 2014 in the Bailey Allen Wing located in Áras na Mac Léinn on campus.

The winners of the five alumni awards to be presented at Gala 2014 are;

Award for Arts, Social Sciences and Celtic Studies - sponsored by AIB  

-Norah Gibbons, Chairperson, Child and Family Agency.

Alumni Award for Business, Public Policy and Law – sponsored by Bank of Ireland

   -  Helen Ryan, Former CEO and Non-Executive Director of Creganna-Tactx Medical.

Alumni Award for Engineering and Informatics – sponsored by Bank of Ireland

 - Michael McNicholas, CEO, Bord Gáis.

Alumni Award for Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences – sponsored by Medtronic

 - Professor Ray Dolan, Professor of Neuropsychology, University College London and Head of the Wellcome Department of Imaging Neuroscience at the Institute of Neurology, London.

Alumni Award for Science – sponsored by Aramark

 - Professor Gerard Jennings, Emeritus Professor, School of Physics, NUI Galway and former Director of the Environmental Change Institute, NUI Galway.            

 For ticket and booking information contact the Alumni Office on 091 493750 or email Online bookings at


Marketing and Communications Office