NUI Galway in Sigerson Cup Finals

Feb 19 2009 Posted: 00:00 GMT
NUI Galway 2-10 UUJ 1-8
NUI Galway kept their best till last to leave University of Ulster Jordanstown (UUJ) reeling and out of the race to land this year's Sigerson Cup after a robust quarter-final at Kingspan/Breffni Park, Cavan. The semi-final line up for this year s Sigerson Cup was decided yesterday and NUI Galway will now face Cork IT on Friday 27, February. Although they won most of the battles, the NUI Galway students looked like losing the war until an unanswered 1-4 tally in the final 18 minutes ousted long-time leaders UUJ. The sides were level on just two occasions over the hour but NUI Galway's physical superiority, greater experience and Paul Broderick's 56th-minute penalty, following a foul on inter-county star Seán Armstrong, eventually wore the northerners down. Mark Gottsche's goal, after a terrific run by centre back Gareth Bradshaw, was just one of many features of a first half that finished 1-7 to 1-5 in favour of UUJ. Tony Regan, Head of Sport, NUI Galway, commented: "Considering we had such a poor start conceding 1-3 in the first five minutes, great credit must go to the team for holding their nerve and battling through to gain a merited five point win. To qualify for the semi-final in Cork IT next weekend gives a tremendous boost to Gaelic Games as a whole in the University and with yesterday's convincing win we are optimistic of our chances". UCD also overcame Garda College yesterday and will now face Dublin rivals DIT in the opposite semi-final. NUI Galway: L Grant; C McDonald, G Cafferkey, D Finnegan; N Ewing, P Domican, G Begley, G Bradshaw, K Conroy; C Kenny (0-2, one free), M Gottsche (1-0), S Armstrong (0-1), J Connellan (0-3); P Broderick (1-3, pen, two frees), C Healy. Subs: Conor Delaney for M Gottsche (58 mines); E Hoare (0-1) for C Healy (58 mines). UUJ: G Kelly; D McDermott, A Girvan, D Morgan (0-1); K Nolan, D Hughes, D Bate son; J Colgan, P Downey; C Donnelly (0-3, two frees), T McCann (0-3), R Muldrow (0-1); C Kavanagh (1-0), S Forcer, D Mulholland. Subs: P Hughes for D Mullholland (49 mins); C Murray for S Forker (51 mins). Referee: P Fox (Westmeath).


Featured Stories