Tanáiste re-appoints former NUI Galway President as Chairperson of SFI

Aug 05 2008 Posted: 00:00 IST
Tánaiste and Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment, Ms. Mary Coughlan T.D., has today (Tuesday 5th August 2008) announced the re-appointment of Professor Patrick Fottrell as Chairperson of Science Foundation Ireland (SFI). Chairman of SFI since 2003, Professor Fottrell is a former Professor of Biochemistry at NUI Galway, serving as President of the University from 1996-2000. Announcing the reappointment, Minister Coughlan said "Since becoming Chairperson in 2003, Professor Fottrell has spearheaded SFI's operations in helping to establish a world-class research environment in Ireland. His dedication and expertise have been an integral part of the major strides achieved to date by SFI. The range of research programmes and supports provided by SFI has expanded significantly under Professor Fottrell's tenure as Chairperson, and I am delighted that he has agreed to serve another 5 year term". Minister Coughlan added "The Government remains committed to placing the development of our knowledge-based economy at the very heart of Ireland's economic and social policy, and under Professor Fottrell's stewardship, SFI has been a key player in achieving this objective. I look forward to working with Professor Fottrell in further implementing the Government's Strategy for Science, Technology and Innovation (SSTI) 2006-2013. Professor Fottrell is a Board Member of Teagasc, the Irish Agriculture and Food Development Authority and Chairman of the Teagasc Research Committee, he is also a Board Member of Safefood, the Irish Food Safety Promotion Board. He has served as Chairman of the Dublin Institute of Technology, the Irish Council of Bioethics and the Ireland-USA Fulbright Commission. Prof. Fottrell is currently Chairman of Westgate Biological. He is a member and former Vice-President of the Royal Irish Academy. Professor Fottrell has a B.Sc. and M.Sc. from University College Cork, a Ph.D. from the University of Glasgow, and a D.Sc. from the National University of Ireland. He is a recipient of the Conway Medal from Ireland s Royal Academy of Medicine, and has been a visiting Professor at Harvard, as well as in Germany and Japan.


Featured Stories