University Gala Banquet Features Alumni Awards

Mar 05 2007 Posted: 00:00 GMT

NUI Galway's eighth annual Gala Banquet, took place at the Radisson SAS Hotel on Saturday, 3rd March 2007, and featured the presentation of the Annual Alumni Awards as well as celebrating student volunteerism as the banquet theme.

The 2007 Gala Banquet celebrated the ALIVE (A Learning Initiative & Volunteering Experience) programme which enables students to register for volunteering opportunities. ALIVE was established in 2003 to harness, acknowledge and support the contribution that NUI Galway students make by volunteering in the community. Income from the Gala Banquet itself will also contribute to this initiative.

The award winners on the night were; Dr Pat Gullane, Medtronic Vascular Award for Health Care and Medical Science; Dr Reg Shaw, Seavite Award for Natural Science; Irial Finan, Bank of Ireland Award for Business and Commerce; Seán O Rourke, AIB Award for Literature, Communications and the Arts; Paddy and Tom Coffey, TBD Award for Engineering, IT and Mathematics; Máiréad Ní Nuadháin, Duais Hewlett-Packard don Ghaeilge and Brian O Donnell, NUI Galway Award for Law, Public Service and Government.

Professor Ger Hurley, Vice President for Strategic Initiatives and External Affairs, and Chair of the Gala Banquet Committee, NUI Galway said; "The Alumni Awards recognise the many Galway alumni who are leaders in their professions and excel in their pursuits at national and international levels. These awards celebrate the life-long value of an NUI Galway education and recognise individual excellence and achievements among the University's more than 60,000 graduates worldwide."

This year's event also included a programme of activities on campus when each of the award winners was hosted by their respective faculties. The award winners also attended the annual award winner's lunch in the Aula Maxima, NUI Galway.

MC for the night was RTÉ presenter Bláthnaid Ní Chofaigh and distinguished guests in attendance included Éamon Ó Cuiv T.D., Mr Enda Kenny T.D., Mr Frank Fahy T.D., Michael D. Higgins T.D. and Adjunct Professor of Human Rights at NUI Galway, RTÉ broadcaster Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh, Alan Kerins, Galway Senior Hurler, Pádraig Ó Céidigh, Aer Arann, Senator Feargal Quinn of Superquinn and also Adjunct Professor of Marketing at NUI Galway and Gary Cullen, former CEO of Aer Lingus and current CEO of Aer Arann.


Contact: Michelle Ní Chróinín, Press & Information Officer, NUI Galway 091-493361 or


Featured Stories