RIA Charlemont Grant Awards Bestowed on Six NUI Galway Scholars

Pictured are (l-r) NUI Galway Charlemont Grant Awardees (l-r) Dr Sarah-Anne Buckley, Dr Eoin Daly, Dr Jessica Hayes, Dr Margaret Brehony, Dr Anuradha Pallipurath and Dr Martin O’Halloran, with (centre) RIA President Mary Daly and Professor Peter Kennedy, International Relations Secretary, RIA.
Mar 02 2015 Posted: 11:13 GMT

Six NUI Galway academics were among the recipients of the inaugural Royal Irish Academy Charlemont Grant Awards, which were presented at a special ceremony in Academy House in Dublin recently.

Funded by the Academy, the Charlemont Grants are designed to act as a career springboard to assist scholars in strengthening their international mobility and developing international collaborative networks. These are small grants, with high impact, and are complimentary to larger programmes offered by other funders including the Irish Research Council and SFI.

The NUI Galway recipients were: Dr Margaret Brehony, Centre for Irish Studies; Dr Sarah-Anne Buckley, History; Dr Eoin Daly, School of Law; Dr Jessica Hayes, REMEDI; Dr Martin O'Halloran, NCBES; and Dr Anuradha Pallipurath, School of Chemistry.

Grants are available for short visits to any country to support primary research in any subject area. The duration of visits is generally between one week and six weeks in length, the key objectives being to initiate one-to-one collaborations, explore opportunities to build lasting networks and gain access to ideas, research facilities, and complementary equipment. Funds are available to facilitate initial project planning and development; to support the direct costs of research; or for visits by or to partner scholars.

The 2016 call for applications will open in early autumn, for further details please visit www.ria.ie.


Marketing and Communications Office


Featured Stories