Applications to join our group are welcome from outstanding and enthusiastic candidates. Undergraduate research projects, summer placements, short research visits, PhD studentships or postdoctoral research are welcome to apply all year round. We will be happy to support applications for external funding.

To apply, please email Dr. Farràs directly with a CV, a cover letter and the names and addresses of two referees. 

Group Members





Research (Funding)

Dr. Pau Farràs

Pau photo_2

Principal Investigator
+353 91492765
Molecular and materials design for Chemistry with Light 

Maria Pujol

Research  Assistant
Project coordinator (SOLAR2CHEM)

Dr. Wenming Tong

Postdoctoral Researcher
New materials for water electrolysers (SEAFUEL and FlowPhotoChem)

Dr. Aoife Howard 

A Howard

Postdoctoral Researcher
Socio-economic analysis (SEAFUEL)

Dr. Roberto González Gómez

Postdoctoral Researcher
Metal oxide nanoparticles for water electrolysis (HUGE)

Dr. Seán Hennessey

Postdoctoral Researcher
Photocatalytic conversion of CO2 and H2O to solar fuels through covalent organic frameworks (NEFERTITI)

Dr. Rakesh Kumar

Postdoctoral Researcher

Amir Abdo

A Abdo photo

PhD Student
Hemin derivatives as NO scavengers (CÚRAM)

Neville Murphy

PhD Student
Metallacarboranes in biomedicine (CÚRAM)

Vivek Christhunathan

PhD Student

Megan Smeaton

Megan Smeaton Profile Photo

PhD Student
1st row transition metal complexes for selective epoxidation (SOLAR2CHEM)

Maryam Toufani

Maryam Toufani Profile Photo

PhD Student
Ligand stabilised mixed metal oxide nanocrystals for selective water oxidation (SOLAR2CHEM)

Hanka Besic

Hanka Besic Profile Photo

PhD Student
Development of stable catalysts for OER (FlowPhotoChem)

Júlia Terra Miranda Machado 

PhD udent
Multi-criteria comparison of national green hydrogen strategies and policies (Solar2Chem)

Levi Nagy

PhD Student
Localised nanocatalysts embedded into a polymeric matrix for CO2 reduction
(Irish Research Council)
Kathryn McCarthy PhD Student
Photocatalytic conversion of CO2 and H2O to solar fuels through covalent organic frameworks (NEFERTITI)
Santiago Sosa Martinez PhD Student
Bioelectrochemistry (Irish Research Council)
Padma Saini Research Assistant
Charlie Castetbon Erasmus Student
Development of novel covalent organic frameworks for CO2 reduction
Rébecca Andriamanantsoa Erasmus Student
New materials for water electrolysers



Group Alumni



Time in group



Dr. Roghayeh (Mahtab) Sadeghi Erami Research Assistant 09/2018  02/2020  

Roghayeh (Mahtab) Sadeghi Erami

Dr. Patrick Kielty PhD Student 09/2017  11/2019  

Patrick Kielty

Amy Florence Grier MSc Student 09/2018  09/2019  

 Amy Grier 

Evan O'Toole        MSc Student    09/2019 – 09/2020    

Evan O'Toole

Dr. Paolo Dessi Postdoctoral Researcher 01/2020  12/2021  

Paolo Dessi

Dr. Kumaravel Gunasekaran Postdoctoral Researcher 01/2020  12/2021  

Kumaravel Dinesh Gunasekaran

Dr. Abhishek Saini Postdoctoral Researcher 01/2021 – 12/2021  

Abhishek Saini

May 2022 Group Photo

Left-to-right: (Back row) Dr. Rakesh Kumar, Dr. Seán Hennessey, Vivek Christhunathan,  Dr. Roberto González Gómez, Dr. Pau Farràs, Dr. Wenming (Simon) Tong, Santiago Martínez Sosa, Neville Murphy, Kathryn McCarthy
(Front row) Amir Abdo, Charlie Castetbon, Júlia Terra Miranda Machado, Maryam Toufani, Rébecca Andriamanantsoa, Hanka Besic 
(Missing) Megan Smeaton, Levente Nagy,