National Transport Awards for NUI Galway Students

Apr 02 2007 Posted: 00:00 IST

John Bradley, Lower Dangan, Galway, runner-up in the Safety Category receiving his award from Joe Walsh, FCILT, International President of the Chartered Institute of Logistics & Transport (CILT), sponsors of the awards.

Maura Garvey, Ballinasloe, Co. Galway, runner-up in the Rail Category receiving her award from Joe Walsh, FCILT, International President of the Chartered Institute of Logistics & Transport (CILT), sponsors of the awards

The Faculty of Engineering at NUI Galway is celebrating with its students receiving Logistics & Transport 'Idea of the Year Award' awarded by The Chartered Institute of Logistics & Transport (CILT). The awards were presented by Joe Walsh, CILT, International President of CILT at a special awards ceremony on Thursday, 29 March in Dublin.

Six NUI Galway students (three Industrial Engineering students, two Management Engineering students and one International student) were winners in six categories of the competition which is open to both students and professionals. The awards are presented to the originator of an idea, which the judges consider to be the most innovative and which could make a significant contribution to some aspect of transport in Ireland.

Professor Padraic O Donoghue, Dean of Engineering at NUI Galway said: "I am delighted to acknowledge the success of six NUI Galway students in receiving awards for their projects from CILT. This is a particularly high number of awards for one university and it is also noteworthy that three of the awards represented category winners. I wholeheartedly congratulate all of the students and their lecturers on these achievements."

The annual awards, which include a range of categories, are based on innovative ideas submitted by students in the areas of: Logistics, Air, Safety & Environment, Sea, Rail and Road.

Among the winners were David Byrne, Rochfortbridge, Co Westmeath, winner of the Safety Category; John Bradley, Galway, runner-up in the Safety Category; Maura Garvey, Ballinasloe, Co. Galway, runner-up in the Rail Category; Stephen McCarthy, Cloughjordan, Co. Tipperary, runner-up in the Road Category; Vicky Bryan, Ballina, Co. Mayo, winner in the Marine Category; and Kaitlin Walsh, a visiting student from New York, USA, winner in the Rail Category.

Lecturer in Logistics at the Faculty of Engineering, NUI Galway, Ms Mary Dempsey, said: "The outstanding dedication and commitment the NUI Galway students make each year in transport innovation is reflected in their logistics projects, and is fortified by CILT recognition in the form of the Innovation Transport Awards. I am extremely proud of the Business Logistics students and of the possible spin-offs from these projects including, investigation by the technology transfer office into possible patent opportunities and requests for copies of the projects from Mr. Gay Byrne, Chairperson of the Road Safety Authority, Capt. Brian Sheridan, Galway Harbour Master and Bus Éireann".

Mr. Chris McGlinn, CILT Eastern Section Ideas Awards coordinator commended the achievements of the students: "There were excellent entries received and it made for some difficult decisions by our adjudicators. It is rewarding to see the commitment and interest the NUI Galway students have shown again on this occasion".

The Minister of Transport was represented at the ceremony by Mr. Andy Cullen, Assistant Secretary of the Department of Transport.

Support for the Galway students was kindly received from PEM Europe, Galway Harbour, Irish Rail, Faculties of Engineering, Arts, the International Office and Commerce as well as from the Office of the Registrar at NUI Galway.

- Ends –


Featured Stories