Three University of Galway academics elected members of the Royal Irish Academy

Dr Róisín Healy University of Galway at RIA ceremony with Deputy President and Registrar Professor Pól Ó Dochartaigh
May 29 2023 Posted: 09:25 IST

University of Galway academics Professor Louise Allcock, Dr Róisín Healy and Professor John Laffey have been elected as Members of the Royal Irish Academy for their exceptional contribution to literature, antiquities and science.

They are among 28 new members admitted to the Academy by Professor Pat Guiry, President of the Royal Irish Academy, on Friday May 26.

Louise Allcock is  Professor of Zoology at University of Galway. She is a world leader in systematics and biogeography of molluscs, with a focus on octopuses and deep-sea biota, and uses her broad knowledge to advocate for ocean conservation. She has brought her passion to public attention via television, radio and beautifully illustrated books on ocean life. Professor Allcock has contributed actively to equality and diversity throughout her professional life.

Róisín Healy is senior lecturer in History at University of Galway. She has published on modern German, Irish and Polish history. Dr Healy has helped forge a comparative history of colonialism in Europe by comparing British rule in Ireland with Prussian rule in Poland. She has received funding from the Fulbright Commission, the Irish Research Council and the Alexander Von Humboldt Foundation.

John Laffey is Professor of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine and Director of Clinical Research at University of Galway's School of Medicine and Galway University Hospitals. His research is focused on acute respiratory distress syndrome and sepsis. A major focus is on therapeutic potential of cell therapies and the effects of carbon dioxide in the critically ill.

President of University of Galway, Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh, said: “I would like to extend my warmest congratulations to Professor Allcock, Dr Healy and Professor Laffey who have all made exceptional contributions in their respective fields. Research and academic excellence are the cornerstones of all that we do here at University of Galway, and I am very happy to see their work and achievements recognised by the RIA.”

Professor Pat Guiry, President of the Royal Irish Academy, said: “These individuals, elected by their peers, have made exceptional contributions in their fields of endeavour. We are delighted to recognise their achievements. As Members of the Academy, they will support the RIA by engaging and leading in activities that strengthen the international recognition of the Academy’s scholarship and serve the public good through their knowledge and insight."

The RIA noted that Professor Allcock and Dr Healy were among 15 women elected as Members of the Academy as part of the latest awards for academic excellence. 

Election to membership of the Royal Irish Academy is the highest academic distinction in Ireland. The Academy has been honouring Ireland’s leading contributors to the world of learning since its establishment in 1785. 


Marketing and Communications Office


Featured Stories