Rowing Ireland Athlete Addresses Sports Scholarships Recipients

Pictured are the 33 new NUI Galway Sports Scholarship recipients with (front row, left) Feargal O’Callaghan, NUI Galway High Performance Lead, and (front row right to left) Alan Newell, Bank of Ireland, and Michelle Millar NUI Galway Dean of Students. Photo by Aengus McMahon
Dec 11 2019 Posted: 08:53 GMT

NUI Galway Dean of Students, Professor Michelle Millar, recently presented 33 outstanding athletes with NUI Galway Student Sports Scholarships, sponsored by Bank of Ireland, the main sponsors of the Sports Programme at NUI Galway.

The ceremony commenced with a special address by Monika Durkarsha, Rowing Ireland team member who qualified in the women’s pair for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. Monika give an inspirational talk to the students on what is required to achieve their goals both in sporting and academically, and described how she is able to balance the demands of being a world class athlete and still maintaining a lifestyle balance which allows her to continue her PhD research.

NUI Galway President, Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh delivered the opening address to students highlighting the importance of sport to the Universities Strategic Plan and also taking the opportunity to wish the students well during their studies in NUI Galway.

Feargal O’Callaghan, NUI Galway High Performance Lead who manages the scholarship scheme, said: “Their time at university is a wonderful opportunity for these talented athletes to reach their true potential and learning, and to plan and achieve a balance in their lifestyle is key to their success both on the sporting arena and in their academic studies.”

This year’s ceremony saw the Performance Points Sports Scholarship awarded to nine outstanding athletes. The scheme provides 40 additional points to those earned in the Leaving Certificate for elite athletes and for academic courses over 350 entry points.

This year’s scholarship recipients represent some of the finest young talent in Irish sport today most of whom have already represented their sport at national, international or intercounty level.

Speaking at the award ceremony, Feargal O’Callaghan continued: “We are really looking forward to working with all the athletes, it is an exciting time for the university in terms of sport as we continually improve the programme in order to produce the best possible athletes.”

NUI Galway Performance Points awardees:
Athletics                      Chloe Casey

Athletics                      Jack Dempsey

Gaelic Football           Cillian Golding

Gaelic Football           Matthew Tierney

Gaelic Football           Paul McGrath

Gaelic Football           Sean O’Flynn

Hurling                        Conor Waslh

Rugby                         Charles Clarke

Soccer                         Rachel Baynes

NUI Galway Sports Scholarships awardees:


Athletics                      Pierre Murchan

Athletics                      Sinead Treacy

Athletics                      Thomas Mc Stay

Basketball                   Alison Blarney

Basketball                   Ciara McCreanor

Basketball                   James Connaire

Basketball                   James Lyons

Boxing                        Darren O'Connor

Camogie                      Carrie Dolan

Camogie                      Laura Ward

Camogie                      Leah Burke

Gaelic Football           Laura Ahearne

Gaelic Football           Saoirse Flynn

Gaelic Football           Joanthan Hester

Golf                             Liam Nolan

Hurling                        Diarmuid Kilcommins

Rowing                       Lisa Murphy


NUI Galway Rugby Foundation Sports Scholarship Awardees:

Declan Floyd

Even Kenny

Jack Power

Oisin Halpin


Marketing and Communications Office


Featured Stories