2FMs Will Leahy to host NUI Galway 2016 Alumni Awards

NUI Galway graduate and RTÉ broadcaster Will Leahy
Mar 01 2016 Posted: 09:00 GMT

NUI Galway has announced that RTÉ 2FM broadcaster Will Leahy will host this year’s Gala Banquet featuring the 2016 Alumni Awards ceremony.

Will Leahy, is an NUI Galway graduate BA (1992) LLB (1994) who is a Limerick based solicitor specialising in Local Authority and Family Law. He is also an award winning broadcaster with both RTÉ Radio and Television presenting primarily on RTÉ 2FM and RTÉ Radio One.

The 2016 Alumni Award winners will be presented with their awards at the Gala Banquet on Saturday, 5 March, 2016 in the Bailey Allen Wing located in Áras na Mac Léinn on campus.

The winners of the six alumni awards to be presented at Gala 2016:

Award for Arts, Literature and Celtic Studies - sponsored by AIB
- Siobhán Ní Ghadhra, Owner/Producer at Danú Media.

Alumni Award for Business and Commerce – sponsored by Bank of Ireland
- Ruth Curran, Managing Partner in MERC Partners and Global Chair IIC Partners.

Alumni Award for Law, Public Policy and Government – sponsored by Galway University Foundation
- Dr Mathilda Twomey, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the Seychelles.

Alumni Award for Engineering, Science and Technology – sponsored by Aramark
- Gearóid Faherty, Former CEO and Chairman of Eurand NV.

Alumni Award for Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences – sponsored by Medtronic
- Dr Joe Murray, Professor of Medicine and Consultant, Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Mayo Clinic.

Alumni Award for Contribution to Sport – sponsored by Bank of Ireland
- Dr Paul Hession, Olympic and world champion sprinter and junior doctor in Tallaght Hospital.


Marketing and Communications Office


Featured Stories